• Laboratory
  • Impurities

Impurities

Product safety and quality are very important in the pharmaceutical industry. Even the smallest amounts of impurities in pharmaceutical products can affect the safety and efficacy of medicines. The trace analysis of impurities is therefore a crucial part of quality assurance.

Analysis of impurities in pharmaceutical products

In addition to method development and validation for the determination of synthesis by-products and degradation products, we have also specialised in the analytical analysis of impurities. The trace analysis of impurities enables the detection and quantification of the smallest amounts of undesirable substances in pharmaceuticals. We offer the identification and quantification of impurities according to ICH Q3D(R2).

Our interdisciplinary team has the necessary qualifications and state-of-the-art equipment to identify and quantify a wide range of potential impurities in pharmaceutical preparations with the utmost accuracy. In addition to chromatographic methods such as gas chromatography (GC) and liquid chromatography (LC), spectroscopic and spectrometric methods such as mass spectrometry (MS), atomic absorption spectrometry (AAS), nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy (NMR), scanning electron microscopy with energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (SEM-EDX) and various electrochemical and bioanalytical techniques are also used. The choice of analytical technique depends on the specific requirements regarding the elements to be determined, the concentration range and the sample to be analysed.

Our services include:

  1. identification of impurities: Our advanced analytical methods are designed to identify both organic and inorganic compounds, residual solvents and metal ions.
  2. uantification and evaluation: Once impurities have been identified, they are precisely quantified. Our sophisticated analysers allow us to determine the concentrations of these impurities with high accuracy, which is essential for risk assessment and quality assurance.
  3. compliance with regulatory standards: Our methods in the field of trace analysis fulfil the strict requirements of regulatory authorities such as the FDA and the EMA.

Trace analysis

Elemental impurities

In the course of risk analyses on the manufacturing route of your product including the complete supply chain and the used production equipment, we identify potential entry points of individual elemental impurities. Together with the results of screening for elemental impurities in product batches, this helps assess to what extent there needs to be a routine control strategy for a specific element in accordance with ICH Guideline Q3D.

If the risk analysis identifies it as necessary to have a testing concept for the routine control strategy of individual elements, we develop and validate an affordable method that is suitable for routine use for release analysis.

Structural elucidation

We use high-resolution LC-MS measurements to elucidate the chemical structure of degradation and synthesis by-products as well as unknown components. This enables us to make initial statements about the structure of the elemental impurities. For complete structural elucidation, our LC-SPE trapping system provides the option of obtaining small quantities directly for subsequent NMR measurements. These measurements are coordinated in collaboration with our cooperation partners.

Identified substances can then be synthesised in collaboration with cooperation partners or isolated using (semi-)preparative techniques, and then qualified by HWI as a reference standard.

Extractables and leachables

Finished medicinal products may contain materials that originate from the packaging or were carried in during the production process. These impurities can be toxicologically relevant and pose a health risk to the patient. It is therefore crucial to determine the compatibility of these materials.

Our team of experts designs and carries out the necessary regulatory analyses of plastic packaging materials for extractables and leachables in medicinal products.

For new marketing-authorisation applications or amendment procedures, we assess this data and provide it to you as a report.

We offer:

  • Extraction studies: exploratory investigations of primary packaging and/or devices to identify extraction profiles of potential extraction products, including the full identification and toxicological qualification of relevant extraction products
  • Confirmatory migration studies of medicinal products as part of stability studies
  • Regulatory support, including the creation of specifications and submission of justifications, expert reports and consultation
  • Matrix-specific method development and validation to perform leachables studies
Genotoxic impurities

Genotoxic impurities can arise as by-products during the synthesis of active substances or certain excipients. Formation in the finished medicinal product is also possible. There are strict limits for genotoxic impurities in active ingredients, excipients and medicinal products with very low limits in the lower ppm or ppb range. We develop and validate customised LC-MS and GC-MS test methods with corresponding detection and quantification limits. The determination of alkyl mesylates in mesylate salts as an example of current issues is well established in our laboratories.

Residual solvents

We test for residual solvents according to European Pharmacopoeia and ICH Guideline Q3C (R7). Optionally, residual solvent determination is possible using our own in-house validated microprocess for substances and preparations only present in the lowest quantities.

Troubleshooting production issues

We offer an express service for troubleshooting undesired impurities in your production. This service includes clarifying the structure of soluble organic impurities using LC-HRMS and GC-MS screening methods. We identify inorganic impurities at our cooperation partners using SEM-EDX or ICP-MS. We also have access to imaging methods such as X-ray microtomography/nanotomography, micro CT and Raman microscopy/imaging.

Purity validation

In accordance with the requirements of the current EMA guideline and literature data and as far as supported by qualified toxicologists in our network, we determine PDE values, which we use as a basis to perform risk-based analytical testing as part of the purity validation. This includes method development or optimisation, method validation and the analysis of samples from the purity validation, the sampling of which (swaps/rinse) we are also happy to help with.

More services

In addition to trace analysis, we offer other services such as drug development, the production of small batches and quality control. If you have any questions or would like a personal consultation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Contact us. We’re happy to help!

Christiane Wiegand
Quality Control

Phone: +49 7272 7767-2521
Email:

Dr. Sandra Hürtgen
Analytical Development

Phone: +49 7272 7767-2571
Email:

Silvia Öttl
Sales Manager

Phone: +49 7272 7767-2561
Email:

Hotline

Monday - Friday

+49 7272 7767-0

• Labordienstleistungen
  • Verunreinigungen

Verunreinigungen (Impurities)

In der pharmazeutischen Industrie ist die Produktsicherheit und -qualität von größter Bedeutung. Verunreinigungen in pharmazeutischen Produkten können selbst in kleinsten Mengen die Sicherheit und Wirksamkeit von Medikamenten beeinträchtigen. Daher ist die Spurenanalytik von Verunreinigungen ein entscheidender Bestandteil der Qualitätssicherung.

Analyse von Verunreinigungen in pharmazeutischen Produkten

Wir haben uns neben der Methodenentwicklung und Validierung zur Bestimmung von Synthesenebenprodukten und Abbauprodukten auch auf die analytische Untersuchung von Verunreinigungen spezialisiert. Die Spurenanalytik von Verunreinigungen ermöglicht den Nachweis und die Quantifizierung von geringsten Mengen unerwünschter Substanzen in Arzneimitteln. Wir bieten die Identifizierung und Quantifizierung von Verunreinigungen gemäß ICH Q3D(R2) an.

Unser interdisziplinäres Team verfügt über die erforderlichen Qualifikationen und modernste Geräte, um eine Vielzahl potenzieller Verunreinigungen in pharmazeutischen Präparaten mit äußerster Genauigkeit zu identifizieren und zu quantifizieren. Neben den chromatografischen Verfahren wie der Gaschromatografie (GC) und Flüssigkeitschromatografie (LC) kommen auch spektroskopische und spektrometrische Methoden wie Massenspektrometrie (MS),Atomabsorptionsspektrometrie (AAS), Kernresonanzspektroskopie (NMR), Rasterelektronenmikroskopie mit Energiedispersiver Röntgenspektroskopie (SEM-EDX) sowie verschiedene elektrochemische und bioanalytische Techniken zum Einsatz. Die Wahl der analytischen Technik ist von den spezifischen Anforderungen wie den zu bestimmenden Elementen, dem Konzentrationsbereich und der Analysenprobe abhängig.

Unsere Leistungen umfassen:

  1. Identifizierung von Verunreinigungen: Unsere fortschrittlichen Analyseverfahren sind darauf ausgerichtet, sowohl organische als auch anorganische Verbindungen, Restlösemittel und Metallionen zu identifizieren.

  2. Quantifizierung und Bewertung: Nach der Identifizierung von Verunreinigungen erfolgt die präzise Quantifizierung. Unsere hochentwickelten Analysegeräte ermöglichen es uns, die Konzentrationen dieser Verunreinigungen mit hoher Genauigkeit zu bestimmen, was für die Risikobewertung und Qualitätssicherung unerlässlich ist.

  3. Einhaltung regulatorischer Standards: Unsere Methoden im Bereich der Spurenanalytik erfüllen die strengen Anforderungen von Zulassungsbehörden wie der FDA und der EMA.

Spurenanalytik

Elementare Verunreinigungen

Im Rahmen von Risikoanalysen zum Herstellungsweg Ihres Produktes, der vollständigen Lieferantenkette und des eingesetzten Produktionsequipments identifizieren wir mögliche Eintragswege einzelner Elementverunreinigungen. Basierend auf den Ergebnissen eines Screenings der Produktchargen bewerten wir elementare Verunreinigungen, inwieweit für welches Element entsprechend der ICH-Guideline Q3D eine Kontrollstrategie für die Routine etabliert werden muss.

Sollte aufgrund der Risikoanalyse ein Prüfkonzept zur Routine-Kontrollstrategie einzelner Elemente (Elementanalytik) erforderlich sein, entwickeln und validieren wir eine routinetaugliche und kostenattraktive Methode für die Freigabeanalytik.

Strukturaufklärung

Um die chemische Struktur von Abbau- und Synthesenebenprodukten sowie unbekannten Komponenten aufzuklären, greifen wir auf hochauflösende LC-MS-Messungen zurück. So können wir erste Aussagen zur Struktur der elementaren Verunreinigungen treffen. Zur vollständigen Strukturaufklärung bietet unser LC-SPE-Trapping-System die Möglichkeit, vorhandene Kleinstmengen direkt für anschließende NMR-Messungen zu erhalten. Die Koordination dieser Messungen erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Kooperationspartnern.

Identifizierten Substanzen können ebenfalls in Zusammenarbeit mit Kooperationspartnern synthetisiert oder mittels (semi-)präparativer Techniken isoliert und anschließend von der HWI als Referenzstandards qualifiziert werden.

Extractables/Leachables

In Fertigarzneimitteln können Materialien enthalten sein, die aus der Verpackung stammen oder während des Produktionsprozesses eingetragen wurden. Diese Verunreinigungen können toxikologisch relevant sein und ein gesundheitliches Risiko für den Patienten darstellen. Es ist daher von entscheidender Bedeutung, die Kompatibilität dieser Materialien zu bestimmen.

Unser Expertenteam konzipiert die regulatorisch erforderlichen Untersuchungen von Kunststoffpackmitteln auf extrahierbare Substanzen (Extractables) und auf migrierte Stoffe (Leachables) in Arzneimitteln und führt sie durch.

Für Neuzulassungsanträge oder Änderungsverfahren bewerten wir die Daten und stellen Ihnen die Ergebnisse in Form ausführlicher Berichte zur Verfügung.

Wir bieten:

  • Extraktionsstudien: Exploratorische Untersuchungen von Primärpackmittel und/oder Devices zur Erfassung von Extraktionsprofilen potenzieller Extraktionsprodukte inklusive vollständiger Identifizierung und toxikologischer Qualifizierung relevanter Extraktionsprodukten.
  • Konfirmatorische Migrationsstudien von Arzneimitteln im Rahmen von Stabilitätsstudien.
  • Regulatorische Unterstützung inklusive Spezifikationserstellung sowie Einreichung von Begründungen, Gutachten und Beratungen.
  • Matrix-spezifische Methodenentwicklung und Validierung zur Durchführung von Leachables-Studien.
Genotoxische Verunreinigungen

Genotoxische Verunreinigungen können bei der Synthese von Wirkstoffen oder bestimmten Hilfsstoffen als Nebenprodukte entstehen. Möglich ist auch die Bildung im Fertigarzneimittel. Für genotoxische Verunreinigungen in Wirkstoffen, Hilfsstoffen und Arzneimitteln gibt es strenge Limitationen mit sehr kleinen Grenzwerten im unteren ppm- oder ppb-Bereich. Wir entwickeln und validieren individuelle LC-MS und GC-MS-Prüfverfahren mit entsprechenden Nachweis- und Bestimmungsgrenzen. Die Bestimmung Alkylmesylate in Mesylat-Salzen als Beispiel für aktuelle Fragestellungen sind in unseren Laboren etabliert.

Restlösemittel

Wir bieten die Prüfung auf Restlösemittel gemäß European Pharmacopoea und ICH-Guideline Q3C (R7) an. Für Substanzen und Präparate, die nur in kleinsten Mengen vorliegen, greifen wir für die Restlösemittelbestimmung optional auf ein hauseigenes validiertes Mikroverfahren zurück.

 

Troubleshooting in Produktionsfragestellungen

Zur Ursachenfindung von unerwünschten Verunreinigungen aus der Produktion bieten wir Ihnen einen Express-Service an. Neben LC-HRMS- und GC-MS-Screeningverfahren für die Strukturaufklärung von löslichen organischen Verunreinigungen stehen uns auch bildgebende Methoden wie Röntgenmikro-/nano-Tomografie, Mikro-CT und Raman-Mikroskopie/Imaging zur Verfügung. Die Identifizierung von anorganischen Verunreinigungen erfolgt mittels SEM-EDX oder ICP-MS.

Reinigungsvalidierung

Entsprechend den Anforderungen der aktuellen EMA-Guideline ermitteln wir PDE-Werte, auf deren Basis wir risikobasiert analytische Prüfungen im Rahmen der Reinigungsvalidierung durchführen. Dies umfasst Methodenentwicklungen oder -optimierungen, Validierung der Verfahren und Untersuchungen von Mustern aus der Reinigungsvalidierung, Bei der Wahl der Probenahme (Swaps/Rinse) unterstützen wir Sie ebenfalls gerne.

Weitere Services

Neben der Spurenanalyse bieten wir weitere Dienstleistungen wie die Arzneimittelentwicklung, die Herstellung von Kleinchargen und die Qualitätskontrolle. Wir stehen Ihnen bei Fragen oder für eine persönliche Beratung gerne zur Verfügung.

Kontaktieren Sie uns. Wir helfen Ihnen gerne!

Christiane Wiegand
Quality Control

Phone: +49 7272 7767-2521
Email:

Dr. Sandra Hürtgen
Analytical Development

Phone: +49 7272 7767-2571
Email:

Silvia Öttl
Sales Manager

Phone: +49 7272 7767-2561
Email:

Hotline

Montag - Freitag

+49 7272 7767-0